University of Wisconsin–Madison

Confocal micrograph of E. coli-infected mouse bladder cells
© R. Welch

Bacterial Pathogenesis

Our mechanistic understanding of bacterial pathogenesis is fundamental to our ability to diagnose, treat, and prevent bacterial diseases. Moreover, as rapidly evolving populations of antibiotic-resistant bacteria spread worldwide, efforts made by our microbiologists to elucidate the genetic, molecular, and cellular elements responsible for a bacterium’s virulence become increasingly vital to our survival. Our faculty explore the mechanistic basis of pathogenesis for such prominent pathogens as enterohemorrhagic E. coli and uropathogenic E. coli, Neisseria gonorrhoeae, Borrelia burgdorferi, and Listeria monocytogenes. How these organisms colonize and invade host cells or tissues, cause damage to their hosts, and elude or alter host immune responses represent the primary themes under which more focused, innovative investigations are led by our bacterial pathogenesis faculty.

Investigators

Joseph (Joe) Dillard

Professor of Medical Microbiology & Immunology

jpdillard@wisc.edu

Office: (608) 265-2837, Laboratory: 265-0489

4157 Microbial Sciences Building

Lindsay Kalan

Assistant Professor, Medical Microbiology & Immunology

lkalan@wisc.edu

Office: (608) 262-6977, Laboratory: 262-6980

6155 Microbial Sciences Building

Caitlin Pepperell

Associate Professor of Medicine and Medical Microbiology & Immunology

pepperell@wisc.edu

Office: (608) 262-5983, Laboratory: 262-6167

5301 Microbial Sciences Building

John-Demian (JD) Sauer

Assistant Professor of Medical Microbiology & Immunology

sauer3@wisc.edu

Office: (608) 263-1529, Laboratory: 263-4230

4203 Microbial Sciences Building

Ronald (Ron) Schell

Professor, Medical Microbiology & Immunology; Chief Bacteriologist, Wisconsin State Laboratory of Hygiene

rfschell@wisc.edu

Office: (608) 262-3634

613 WI State Lab of Hygiene

Rodney (Rod) Welch

Professor of Medical Microbiology & Immunology, Department Chair

rawelch@wisc.edu

Office: (608) 263-2700, Laboratory: 262-7814

6157 Microbial Sciences Building